Meet the Teachers and Students


While Nakivale refugee settlement has seven primary schools, until recently, students completing primary school did not have the opportunity to go onto secondary school. With the support of Australia for UNHCR, the settlement opened the doors of its first secondary school in early 2010.


Hear from the teachers and students




Liverpool Boys High School Students


Ahmed - Hi! I’m Ahmed. I’m 14 years old and in year 9. I’m an Australian citizen but my cultural background is Pakistani. I’m not really a sporty kind of person, I’m more of a nerd :p. I like to study a lot more than play around on the back oval at school. But when I do play sport, I like playing sports like Basketball, Baseball and Volleyball. My favourite subjects in school include English, Science, Commerce, Art and Drama. My favourite ingredient is meat. I like to have meat in the foods I eat, but not all the time! Also, I love outside food such as: Nandos, McDonalds, KFC, San Churro, Max Brenna, Moochi, Coffee (I have it every day. I love it so much!), Subway.Those were just some of the things I like to eat outside of the house. I don’t know why, but I love assignments. I think I do better in them because I can relax. So that’s me. I’m pretty much an open book.


Wassim - Hello, my name is Wassim. I’m 14 years old and I’ve been living in Australia for 12 and a half years. My favorite subject at school is English because I find it very easy and I love studying books. A particular passion of mine is travelling. One day I’d love to travel around the world, especially to African countries to experience the many different things Africa has to offer, like going on Safari’s and visiting the Pyramids in Egypt. I’m Muslim and have a family of four: me, my sister, mother and father. My mother once worked as a nurse in the Sudan a very big country in Africa. I love animals, different kinds of foods and playing sports.


Marc - I’m Marc. I just turned 14 this year I was born in Hawaii. One thing I would treasure is my sleep. I like to sleep a lot but one thing that doesn’t let me sleep is my homework. Another thing I love to do is eat. Obviously if there was a person who got paid for eating or testing food it would be me. I would be the happiest man doing his job! But it would be hard to keep fit. Other than that I love to go outside and play basketball or just practice on getting the ball inside the hoop.


Yamen - My name Yamen but on my birth certificate it says Mohammad Yamen which has confused a lot of my teachers and friends. I have been given some pretty funny nicknames like Gavin, YumYum, Yamaha and yaaaaamen. I’ve been playing some sports for some time like tennis which I played for about 5 years, and taekwondo which I trained for 7 years. In my family I have 7 people my mum and dad, my 3 sisters and my little brother. In 2004 and me and my family came here because my dad had already established a life for me and my brothers and sisters many years ago. I am originally from Syria and we only decided to book 2 days before our flight. There are many things we left with our family members and in our house that we don’t know exist anymore. Overall I see myself as a healthy, happy and energetic person who loves to make people laugh.


Dusan - My name is Dusan, I'm 15 years old. I was born in Serbia, but moved to Australia when I was 3 years old. I enjoy playing games on my Playstation 3 and Computer. I don't know what I want to do when I get older. My favorite subject is Science. I have a dog called Luna. I dont have a favorite sport but I enjoy swimming, if that counts as a sport. My favorite book is Ender's Game.


Goran - Hello my name is Goran but you can call me Goran. Now I don't mean to brag, (look at me) but I am amazing and you can be too if you follow these steps.

1. Don't let anyone go in your way to success

2. Appreciate what you have

3. And finally, Confidence!

My hobbies include, playing with my dog, drawing, computer games, and last but not least drawing. I have a job at McDonalds and the best part is that I get everything half price.


Nakivale Students


Samuel - My name is Samuel; I am 15 years old and am in primary seven. I have been living in Nakivale refugee settlement in Uganda for five and half years. My home country is the Democratic Republic of Congo.

I like playing football, volleyball and basketball. I also enjoy tennis but we do not have any facilities for this. I like reading all the subjects which include Social Studies, Science and Mathematics. But my favourite subjects in school are mathematics and social studies.

My best meal is bananas, posho (maize meal), rice and cassava. Some of the foods that I also enjoy eating but do not get very often is kikomando (chapati and beans), chips, meat, coffee and tea. These are just some of the things I like in my daily life activities.

And lastly but not the least, I have a job in the village.


Jane - Hello, my name is Jane. I am 16 years old. I am in primary 6. I am a refugee from D.R Congo but now I’m living in Uganda.

My dream is to travel around the world to see new and interesting things. I don’t like games but sometimes I play net ball and volley ball at my leisure time. I request all the students from Australia to pray for me such that I can also reach Australia. In our family we are seven members and they include dad, mum, three brothers and I together with my younger sister called Silivia.

Thanks a lot, I really enjoyed reading all the profiles from every one.


Ezra - Hello, my name is Ezra, am 14 years old and am in primary 6. Am a Ugandan by nationality and I was born in Uganda in 1999.

I treasure travelling and I would really love to travel to Australia and to see how it looks like. Another thing I love to do is to read. I like to read my favorite subject like English and Social Studies. I enjoy playing games like football, basket ball and volley ball. I am very excited to have met you all! I really enjoyed reading Marc’s profile! ☺


Elias - Hello, I’m 16 years old, am in primary seven. I am a Ugandan by birth/nationality. My nick name J.B.K² and some call me goodman. I like your communication. My favorite subjects are Maths and Social Study because I find them very easy.

In the area of Mathematics and Social Studies I perform very well in class. You can also be if you follow my advice...

Making practice in maths

Loving your teachers

Asking your teacher and friends for guidance

I do not like sport but when I do play, I play football and I love swimming but we do not have a swimming pool in Nakivale.


Rebecca - HELLO, I’m 14 years old and my homeland is Uganda. My favorite subjects at school are English and Science, because I find them easy. I love reading books.

I have been playing sports for sometimes. I like netball which I have played for about 5 years and volleyball which I have trained in for a year.

A particular passion of mine is debating. I love debating at school. At our school we love debating competitions. Once our school had a debating competition with another school and we won that debate and got a gift.

Last but not the least, I am a musician!


Habibu - Hello, my name is Habibu. Am 16 years old and I am in primary six. My favorite subjects at school are Social Studies, Mathematics, Science and English because I find them much easy and I love studying them.

I’m not really a sporty kind of person; I am more of a nerd ☺ I like to study a lot then playing around at school. But when I do play sport, I like playing football and volleyball.

I would like to know how Australia looks like. I like to study but the problem is I have no access to money and if I complete primary seven I may not have school fees to continue with my studies. Despite all this, for me I continue to work hard at school and leave the rest to God.



Nakivale Secondary School


Construction Period October 2009 - December 2009
Opened February 2010
Infrastructure supported by donors Two large brick buildings each housing 2 large classrooms. Support buildings include staff room, an activity room and a small latrine block.
Each classrooms is fitted with wooden desks seating2 to 3 students and a large blackboard
No. of students 145 students (including 40 students from the local Ugandan community)
Nationality of students DRC, Rwandese, Burundian, Sudanese, Ethiopian and Ugandan
Gender of students 55% male; 45% female
Age of students 12 - 14 year olds as well as a small number of older students who had not previously had access to high school
Student Grades Taught Grade 7 and 8 (2010)
Syllabus Ugandan Government curriculum
Subjects offered English, English Literature, Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, History, Comparative Religious Studies, Geography, Swahili, French, Fine Arts, Commerce, Accounts, Agriculture and Tech Drawing
Teaching Staff 14 teachers, mostly Ugandan